An Garda Síochána win on the double at Tech Excellence Awards 2018

Tim Willoughby
Gary Watson, Keppel Data Centres, presents Tim Willoughby with the 2018 Tech Excellence Awards person of the year award

More than 500 guests attend black tie event at Citywest



Read More:

25 May 2018 | 0

The head of digital services and innovation at An Garda Síochána, Tim Willoughby, was recognised with the person of the year award at the 2018 Tech Excellence Awards held last night at the Citywest Hotel in Dublin.

Willoughby’s award was the second for the team from An Garda Síochána, which also took home the Digital Edge gong for its integration of communication and collaborative tools to improve operational efficiency.

The gala event was attended by more than 500 luminaries from the technology sector, who gathered to celebrate another year of innovation and commercial success at home and abroad.

Eoin O’Driscoll received a lifetime achievement award for his contribution to the technology sector as entrepreneur, thought leader and advocate.

Also recognised on the night were Tom O’Leary of ICON for CIO of the year, and Apis Project’s Fiona Edwards Murphy claimed the rising star award.

CMS Distribution was named IT company of the year.

Finally, the Hibernia award for contribution to the Irish tech sector by a multinational went to Analog Devices.

The Awards were adjudicated by industry experts Eoin O’Driscoll (Tyndall National Institute), Dr Jim Mountjoy (Science Foundation Ireland), Peter McManamon (Atlantic Bridge), Dr Seán Baker (Lero), Louise Nichols (Brown Bag Films), Tom O’Sullivan (Irish Computer Society) and Aisling Cunningham (Ervia).

Newest member of the Judging panel, Eriva CIO Ashling Cunningham, said: “The range, diversity and deep technical know-how was so encouraging as was the huge standard in both company and individual entries. It has been a pleasure to have joined the Judging panel and witnessed first hand the dynamic nature of our ever maturing industry.”

Billy Huggard, operations director of Tech Excellence Awards organiser, Mediateam, said: “The quality and number of entries have raised the benchmark yet again. The evidence of best business practice with deep technical know-how was abundant in the entries this year.”

Full list of winners:

IT Project of the year (private sector) (sponsored by Fujitsu & Square One Distribution)
Ergo & BWG
IT project of the year (public sector) (sponsored by Blueface) – eHealth Ireland
IT project of the year (SME) (sponsored by Mediateam) – Ripplecom & Radius Technologies
Digital Edge award (sponsored by Ervia) – An Garda Síochána
Digital strategy partner of the year (sponsored by – Logicalis
Start up award (sponsored by Schneider Electric) – Siren
Professional development award (sponsored by TechPro) – Technology Ireland ICT Skillnet
Data centres innovation award (sponsored by Commvault) – Interxion

Vertical market specialist of the year (sponsored by Juniper & Agile) – Glantus
Communications excellence (sponsored by Olive Learning) – Three
Distributor of the year (sponsored by Grenke) – Data Solutions
Enterprise partner of the year (sponsored by CMS Distribution) – Datapac
Internet of Things innovation of the year (sponsored by Damovo) – AmbiSense
Cloud partner of the year (sponsored by Microwarehouse) – Digital Planet
Rising Star (sponsored by Data Solutions) – Apis Project, Fiona Edwards Murphy
IT architect of the year (sponsored by CPL in association with IASA) – Action Point

IT professional team of the year (sponsored by FIT ICT Professional) – HSE/HBS/eHealth
CIO of the year (sponsored by Viatel) – Tom O’Leary, Icon
Hibernia Award (sponsored by Intel) – Analog Devices
Managed security service provider of the year (sponsored by TechTrade) – Smarttech247
Managed service company of the year (sponsored by Citrix) – Evros
Company of the year (sponsored by Interxion) – CMS Distribution
Person of the year (sponsored by Keppel Data Services) – Tim Willoughby, An Garda Siochana
Lifetime achievement award (sponsored by Intellicom) – Eoin O’Driscoll

For more information about the Tech Excellence Awards visit

TechCentral Reporters

Read More:

Comments are closed.

Back to Top ↑