Engineers Ireland Awards opens for entries

Caroline Spillane
Caroline Spillane, Director General, Engineers Ireland speaking at the 2015 Engineers Ireland Excellence Awards



Read More:

29 July 2016 | 0

Entries are now being sought for the 2016 Engineers Ireland Excellence Awards, held in association with ESB. These annual awards are chosen and presented by the 23,000-strong membership organisation in recognition of the achievements of engineers who have demonstrated exceptional engineering skills through their work.

In addition to the flagship engineering project of the year award, other categories include the local authority engineering initiative award, a technical innovation award and special awards in the fields of Geoscience, Heritage and Conservation.

There is also an international engineer of the year award, acknowledging the contribution of the Irish engineering diaspora and the excellent work of Irish engineers around the world.

Caroline Spillane, Director General, Engineers Ireland, said: “The wealth of engineering talent in Ireland is rich and varied. Engineering touches the lives of everyone, providing creative solutions to societal needs from tangible works such as bridges and flood defences, to heart stents and prostheses, as well as the invisible technology that is all around us and supports our communities.

“In addition to identifying leaders within the Irish engineering industry, this awards event, now in its seventh year, provides an opportunity to showcase and celebrate the valuable contribution engineering and the diversity of the profession makes to society.”

Last year’s engineering project of the year was awarded to the Kerry Group Global Technology and Innovation Centre, directed by ARUP.

Winners in other categories in 2015 included Cork County Council; OpenHydro; L&M Keating Ltd; Limerick Institute of Technology; University College Dublin; Irish Naval Service; KCI Manufacturing; Green Gas; Cork Institute of Technology; Lisa Edden, Consulting Engineer; JB Barry & Partners with Roscommon County Council, HalCrowBarry and Wills Bros.

The deadline for entry to the 2016 awards is Friday 2 September. For details on how to enter visit

TechCentral Reporters

Read More:

Leave a Reply

Back to Top ↑